Schuett wins flag to flag

Pedal Down Promotions

The Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association 410 Sprint Car Series, Plymouth Dirt Track Racing-Akright Auto Midwest Sprint Car Association 360 Sprint Cars and Badger Midgets converged on the PDTR at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds Saturday.

Kyle Schuett of Philo, Ill., notched his first career IRA 410 Sprint Car Series A-main victory in flag-to-flag fashion in the 30-lap main event.

Schuett, who started on the pole, outpowered two-time IRA champion Scotty Neitzel of Beaver Dam, who started second, to take the lead on the opening lap.

By lap five, Schuett rode the cushion to build a full straightaway lead over IRA rookie Tyler Tischendorf, who started third. Schuett caught the back of the 22-car field on lap six before the red flag appeared on lap seven when two-time IRA champion and current points leader Jake Blackhurst of Hanna City, Ill., flipped in turn two.

Following the restart, Neitzel ducked low to power past Tischendorf and took over the runner-up spot exiting turn four on lap eight. Two laps later, Jordan Goldesberry, who started fourth, followed Neitzel into third in the running order.

Schuett began to encounter lapped traffic on lap 13, which allowed Neitzel to close in on lap 18. As the leaders continued to weave their way through heavy lapped traffic, eighth-starter Danny Schlafer of Sussex moved in to slip past Neitzel in turn four on lap 28.

On the final lap, Schlafer dove low to briefly pull alongside the high groove hugging Schuett. However, Schuett used the momentum of the outside line to power away from Schlafer down the backstretch and through the final two turns en route to his initial IRA A-main triumph.

Schlafer was second, followed by Neitzel, Goldesberry and Jeremy Schultz of Beaver Dam.

In other races:

ν Defending PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion and points leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan executed a late-race pass to secure his sixth 25-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main triumph of the 2022 campaign.

Polesitter Lance Fassbender of Burnett took the lead on the opening lap as outside front-row starter Bill Taylor of Boltonville slipped into second.

Fassbender held tight to the low groove with Taylor following closely in his tire tracks through the opening laps of the race.

On lap eight, Arenz, who started eighth, worked his way into fourth before using a high move to seize third on lap 10.

As the leader encountered lapped traffic, Arenz capitalized by bolting past Taylor into second in turn one on lap 18. Meanwhile, Fassbender was finding the going challenging at the front of the field as he tried in vain to work around a lapped car, which allowed the stalking Arenz to pounce.

When Fassbender drifted high, Arenz dove low to seize the top spot entering turn one on lap 20. Arenz then pulled away to notch his sixth PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory of the 2022 season in nine attempts, 16th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car main event win and 28th career Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main triumph in the caution-free race.

Fassbender finished second, followed by Taylor, Robbie Pribnow of Lomira and ninth-starter Tim Haddy of Waupun.

ν Zach Boden of Cambridge made it two-for-two on the season at PDTR as he notched his second Badger Midget A-main victory of the season in the 25-lap main event.

The start of the race was aborted when Jordan Nelson of Colgate flipped in turn two.

Boden, who lined up fifth on the original start, used a huge run along the low groove to seize the lead in turn four on the opening lap as Daltyn England of Springfield, Ill.,  settled into second.

On lap three, seventh starter Jack Routson of Waterman, Ill., worked his way underneath England to move into second and quickly set his sights on Boden. Routson was closing in on the lead when a caution flag was displayed on lap 9 after Trey Weishoff of Sun Prairie stopped along the backstretch.

When the race resumed, Routson was hustling his car to keep pace with Boden at the front of the field when he jumped the cushion and spun in turn two on lap 13 to bring out the third yellow/red flag of the race.

After another yellow flag on the restart for an incident involving Dave Collins of Lake Mills and Cody Weisensel of Sun Prairie in turn two on lap 13, Boden again pulled away while 16th starter Jake Neuman worked the high line to move into third on lap 16 and second on lap 17.

On lap 23, the red flag was displayed when Charles Rufi of New Glarus flipped in turn two to set up a green-white-checked flag finish. Boden held strong on the restart to hold off the hard-charging Neuman on the way to his second main event victory of the 2022 season at The Plymouth Dirt Track and his third career Badger Midgets A-main win.

Neuman was second, followed by England, Kyle Stark of Marshall and Kevin Douglas of Madison.

ν Jordan Goldesberry was the IRA 410 Sprint Car fast qualifier with a lap of 11.750 seconds.

ν In his first start of the season, Jason Johnson of Campbellsport was the fastest PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Car overall qualifier with a lap of 12.366 seconds.

Jake Neuman earned the Badger Midgets fast qualifier award with a lap of 13.749 seconds.

ν Tony Wondra of Campbellsport won the 12-lap 360 Sprint Car B-main.

ν Jake Neuman won the 10-lap Badger Midgets B-Main.

The Saturday, Aug. 6, PDTR racing program will feature the inaugural Plymouth Racing Wall of Fame Class induction with 10 drivers, four track workers and three racing families honored for their contributions to the racing program at Plymouth since its inception in 1950.

In addition, it’s Kids Autograph Night with backpack and checkered flag giveaways. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with qualifying at 5:30 p.m. and racing to begin at 6 p.m.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login