No contested elections for local boards on Tuesday

But new town chairman assured as Mueller steps down
Ozaukee Press Staff

Fredonia-area voters have no local contested races to decide on election day, Tuesday, April 2, but Town of Fredonia residents will be getting a new chairman.

Longtime chairman Rich Mueller is stepping down. Running unopposed to replace him is Lance Leider. 

Leider has served on the Town Board for 17 years. Mueller is stepping down after 36 years on the board and 20 years as chairman.

In the Village of Fredonia, Village President Donald Dohrwardt and incumbent trustees John Long and William McLarty are running for re-election. 

Newcomer Daniel Gehrke also will be on the ballot seeking to replace T.J. Meyers-Jansky, who opted to not seek re-election, citing work commitments.

Dohrwardt has been a fixture on the board for the most part since 1996 while McLarty was appointed to the Village Board over four others, including Gehrke, in July to replace Neil Wagner, who resigned for health reasons.

Long was appointed to the Village Board in January 2014 and has been re-elected twice.

Last year, five candidates ran for three seats on the Village Board. In that race, incumbent Jill Bertram and newcomers Joshua Haas and Richard Abegglen were elected while incumbent Rudy McCormick and challenger Daniel Paulus came up short.

In the Town of Fredonia, supervisors Chris Janik and Mark Schubert are unopposed.

No candidates filed to fill the last year of Leider’s term on the Town Board. Town Clerk Bob Eichner said the vacancy will be filled by appointment following the election.

In the Northern Ozaukee School District, incumbent Dan Large is the only School Board candidate for the Town of Belgium seat and incumbent Rick Hamm is the only candidate for the Town of Saukville seat.

No candidate filed to succeed Scott Szczerbinski for the School Board’s Town of Fredonia seat.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login