Klaus, Ozaukee boys, CG-Belgium girls win

Ozaukee Press staff

The Ozaukee and Cedar Grove-Belgium high schools’ cross country teams had one individual champion and won two small-school team titles at the Bremser Invite at Mishicot last Thursday.

Owen Klaus won the 5,000-meter race in a personal-record 16 minutes, 35 seconds, beating 84 other small-school runners leading the Warriors to the team victory over their Big East Conference rival.

Ozaukee scored 59 points in the 11-team small school meet. Sheboygan Lutheran scored 67, making it four straight weeks of the teams flip-flopping finishing ahead or behind one another.

Manitowoc Lutheran had 87 and Cedar Grove-Belgium was fourth with 90.

Warrior Aaron Nehls was sixth in 17:42. Chase Miller was 12th in a personal-record 17:57.

Brice Schueller was 23rd in 18:45, and Riley Borchardt was 15th in 18:56. Both times were personal records.

“The boys team put together a solid performance against some good teams.  It was great to see the entire boys roster continue to move up and especially to have our Nos. 4 to 7 step up against some tough conference opponents,” coach Andrew Pfeuffer said.

Ozaukee’s sixth runner was Dan Zimdars, who was 34th in 19:23, and Otto Utecht was 38th in 19:33 — both personal-record times.

“Keeping seven strong runners in our varsity line up is fun to watch as they can continually push each other each day in practice and at meets,” Pfeuffer said.

The Rocket boys were missing their fourth and seventh runners, Wes Huenink and Alessendro Gala — one was sick and one has an ankle issue, coach Brandon Langer said.

Mason Hoopman finished third 17:10.38, and Jamison Velzke was fourth in 17:23.72.

“Jamison is really starting to figure out how to race this distance. His goal was to stay with Mason through the first mile and have Mason pull him through to a fast time, which is exactly what happened,” Langer said.

Will Huenink was ninth in 17:40.4. Reid Ketterhagen was 36th in 19:40.26, and Michael Kuerschner was 39th in 19:49.9.

“Reid had a solid personal record and a nice improvement from Angel (invite), as he moved up to the No. 4 position.  If he can continue to push Michael and Alessandro, hopefully they can close the gap to Wes,” Langer said.

CG-Belgium girls top three league foes

The Rocket girls had three runners finish in the top 10 to lead them to the small school title over 12 other teams.

The Rockets scored 42 points, beating Reedsville’s 75, Ozaukee’s 88 and Sheboygan Lutheran’s 139.

Hadley Heimerman was third in 20:40.32 and Faith Konzak was fourth in 20:40.59 in the 97-runner small-school field.

Elise Brill was ninth in 21:35.43, Ashleigh McCluskey was 14th in 21:43.86 and Amara Beernink was 15th in 21:47.77.

“Pack running has been very beneficial for both the top two girls and the Nos. 3 to 5 (now six) runners,” Langer said.

“Faith had a very nice race as she was able to rebound from getting knocked into a fence and tumbling to the ground at the very start of the race — she has a pretty good sized cut on her lower leg from this.  But she showed her grit and determination by collecting herself, moving back up to position by the mile, and continued to push the pace to a solid result.”

The Rockets’ sixth finisher, Mallory Arroyo, was 16th in 21:48.46, a personal record by nearly a minute and a half. Allie Jaworski was 48th in 24:40.89.

“Elise has really done a good job finishing races, as her toughness has been on display. Amara and Ashleigh continue to use the pack mentality to their advantage. I would like to see one of them break away at some point and really push the pace to see how they respond,” Langer said.

The Rockets ran on Tuesday and run in the Port Washington Invite on Thursday, Oct. 6, at Tendick Park.

For Ozaukee, Meredith Clark was eighth in 21:31, knocking nearly a minute off of her time from a week earlier. Clara McKee was 17th in 21:54. Becky Hoffmann was 19th in 22:03, and Addison Schubert was 25th in 22:38. All were season-best times and good enough for medals.

“Mere has done a great job in practice and meets this season as she just continues to take chunks off her time and is pushing herself for more,” Pfeuffer said.

Kenna Pierson was 26th in 23:01.

Sarah Tinder was 27th in 23:05, and Chloe Dybul was 60th in 26:19 — both personal records.

Ozaukee runs in the Lighting Invite at Lake Country Lutheran on Saturday, Oct. 1.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login