Three to play in football all-star game

Egan, O’Bryant and Esselmann to participate in one more prep contest

Three local high school football players get the chance to play in a game this summer whose name matches their performances last season.

Cedar Grove-Belgium’s Gabe Egan, Grafton’s Josh Lee-O’Bryant and Port Washington’s Matt Esselmann have been chosen for the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association All-Star game.

Esselmann caught 50 balls (fourth in Division 3) for 787 yards (sixth in Division 3)  with 13 touchdowns (second in Division 3) and was named to the East Central Conference first team.

He will play wide receiver for the North Large team in the all-star game, but he was also chosen to the ECC first team as a defensive back after leading Division 3 with seven interceptions. He had 16 pass deflections and made 42 tackles playing cornerback and free safety. He also served as Port’s kicker and punter and was voted the team’s most valuable player.

Egan, who was named the Big East Conference Offensive Player of the Year, chosen for the all-state first team as a wide receiver was and a finalist for the Al Toon Award given to best receiver in the state, led the Rockets to a conference title (7-0) and an 8-3 overall record.

Egan led the state in receiving touchdowns with 20 and was third in yards with 1,165 on 44 catches. He ran 46 times for 389 yards and three scores and will play receiver for the South Small Team.

Lee-O’Bryant was named Lineman of the Year in the Woodland Conference and led the Black Hawks to their first conference title since 1995. He played multiple positions on the offensive line, and on defense made 39 tackles — three for loss — and forced a fumble while playing tackle, nose guard and end.

O’Bryant will play defensive line for the South Large team.

The all-star games will be played on Saturday, July 15, at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login