Spring races for county, village posts taking shape

Longtime Saukville official files papers to run against Ozaukee Board incumbent
Ozaukee Press Staff

What the spring ballot will look like is beginning to take shape as the deadline for filing notices of non-candidacy passed on Friday, Dec. 27, and the deadline for submitting paperwork to be on the ballot approaches.

Prospective candidates have until 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 7, to submit nomination papers.

In the latest development, Chris Lear, a member of the Village of Saukville Plan Commission, took out nomination papers on Monday to run for the Ozaukee County Board against incumbent Fifth District Supr. Don Clark. 

In other races, three seats on the Saukville Village Board are up for re-election on April 7.

Scott Fischer is the only trustee who has submitted signatures, Village Clerk Mary Kay Baumann said Monday, though incumbents James Nowlen and Trevor Seitz have said they plan on running for re-election.

All three were elected in April 2018, Nowlen and Seitz for the first time. Fischer was first elected in 2014.

Besides Clark, two Ozaukee County supervisors who represent the Saukville area have filed their campaign registration and declaration of candidacy papers. 

They are Third District Supr. Barbara Jobs, who represents most of the Town of Saukville, and Fourth District Supr. and County Board Chairman Lee Schlenvogt, who represents the eastern side of Saukville.

County supervisors serve two-year terms.

In addition, Northern Ozaukee School Board President Brent Neis, who represents a portion of the Town of Saukville, is up for re-election.

There are no open seats on the Saukville Town Board.

In the Village of Newburg, there will be three trustee seats on the ballot. Two trustees — Sandy Stockhausen and Bill Sackett — have each filed a notice of non-candidacy and will not be running for re-election.

Village resident Phyllis Damrow has filed papers to run for trustee.




Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login