Pair of drivers stay perfect on the season in Plymouth

Pedal Down Promotions

On an unseasonably warm spring evening, a pair of drivers stayed perfect in A-main competition while two others won their first main events of the season Saturday at the Plymouth Dirt Track in Sheboygan.

Defending PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls made it 2-for-2 on the season as he rolled to victory in the 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasant View Realty 360 Sprint Car main event.

Arenz sealed the win on lap 19 in negotiating lapped traffic to take a commanding lead.

Bern Schmidt of Plymouth took second, followed by Kurt Davis of West Allis, Tim Haddy of Waupun and Anthony Knierim of Caledonia.

In the 25-lap Sheboygan’s Country B93.7 25-lap Late model A-main, Joe Bongiorno of Milwaukee earned his first career Late Model main event victory.

Bongiorno opened up a straightaway lead over Kevin Baldry of Omro over the final four laps to win. Jim Schmidt of Cleveland finished third, followed by Turk Letizia of Milwaukee and Bill Edler of Glenbeulah took fifth.

2018 PDTR Grand National champion Matt Loehr of Dotyville outdueled Luke Scholten of Oostburg on the final three laps to claim his first 25-lap Oostburg Automotive PDTR Grand National main event victory of the season.

Matt Yancey of Sheboygan was third, followed by Brad Weiss of Cascade and 2019 PDTR Grand National champ Tyler Kulow of Plymouth.

Jonathan Hitsman of Sheboygan racked up his second 25-lap PDTR Next Step Insurance B Mod A-main victory in as many attempts.

Hitsman took the lead on the third lap and cruised to the win. The race ended in a combined checkered caution as Spencer Long of Sheboygan Falls slowed to a stop in turn two on the final lap with smoke streaming from his car.

Shane Long finished second, followed by Gary Glander of Sheboygan Falls, Jonathon Baumann of Sheboygan and Brandon Knepprath of Boltonville.

Danny Schlafer of Sussex won the 15-lap PDTR 360 Sprint B main.

Haddy was the overall fast qualifier in PDTR 360 Sprint Car group qualifying with a lap of 12.702.

The next PDTR event will feature the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Car Series in conjunction with the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association 410 Sprint Car Series on Saturday, May 21. The PDTR 360 Sprint Cars will also be on the card.

Gates open at 3:30 p.m. with racing slated to begin at 5:30 p.m.

Advance tickets are available at



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login