Nobody is catching Klaus or Beightol

Senior stars lead Ozaukee, CG-Belgium teams at regional meet


Ozaukee Press staff

Cedar Grove-Belgium’s Caleb Beightol and Ozaukee’s Owen Klaus each won two individual events at Monday’s Division 3 track and field regional at St. Mary Catholic.

The Rockets qualified 12 entries and the Warriors seven for Thursday’s Horicon sectional by finishing in one of the top four places.

Beightol won the 100-meter dash in 11.3 seconds and the 200 in 22.96 seconds.

He also helped the 400 relay team win in 44.7 seconds. Other runners were Joseph Carrasquillo, Gabe Egan and Ethan Minick.

The Rockets’ 3,200 relay of Will Huenink, David Martinez, Mason Hoopman and Jamison Velzke was second in 8 minutes, 32.42 seconds.

Velzke was third in the 800 in 2:07.27, and Huenink was third in the 3,200 in 10:20.55.

Hoopman was fourth in the 3,200 in 10:32.4, and Egan was fourth in the 100 in 11.77. Wes Huenink was fourth in the 1,600 in 4:57.36.

The Rocket girls’ 3,200 relay of Mallory Arroyo, Hadley Heimerman, Elise Brill and Faith Konzak was fourth in 10:30.66.

Hannah Navis was fourth in the 100 in 13.61 and in the high jump by clearing 4 feet, 7 inches.

For Ozaukee, Klaus won the 1,600 in 4:44.61 and the 800 in 2:03.3.

Paige Kurlinski won the shot put with 39-0.25 and was fourth in discus with 104-2.

Otto Utecht was second in the high jump with 5-10, and Clara McKee was third in the 3,200 in 12:27.44.

The top four finishers at the sectional qualify for the state meet in La Crosse.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login