Aldermanic elections attract full slate of candidates

Ozaukee Press staff

Port Washington will likely have a female alderman this spring.

Deb Postl, 63, of 406 Briarwood La., was the only person to file nomination papers for the District 1 seat being vacated by Ald. Mike Ehrlich in the April 2 election, City Clerk Susan Westerbeke said Wednesday morning.

With hours left before the 5 p.m. deadline to file nomination papers, Westerbeke said, Postl was the only person to have taken out papers for the office.

Incumbent aldermen Mike Gasper, District 3, Jonathan Pleitner, District 5, and John Sigwart, District 7, were the only ones to have returned nomination papers for their seats, Westerbeke said.

Postl, a retired customer service supervisor for We Energies, said she believes the Common Council has been leaning too hard on tax incremental financing funds to facilitate development.

“I think that puts our city too much at risk,” Postl said. 

She is also concerned about public safety, particularly the narrowing of virtually every street when it is reconstructed and about traffic downtown.

“Our downtown area is becoming congested, and I’m concerned about safety for cross traffic, for pedestrians,” she said.

She also wants to increase communication between the city and its residents, saying people feel increasingly disenfranchised because their questions aren’t adequately answered.


Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login