Share this page on facebook
On track for state indoor honors PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 13 April 2016 15:58

Fullington’s 3rd-place sprint leads local athletes in WTFA test against elite

A victory eluded him, but Grafton’s Nic Fullington stayed in the thick of a sprint title chase with the state’s elite last Saturday.sports1

The senior placed third in the 55-meter dash at the Wisconsin Track and Field Association State Indoor Meet in Whitewater.

Fullington was clocked at 6.65 seconds, trailing only Franklin’s Josh Iraci (6.48) and Whitefish Bay’s Evan Murray (6.61) in an event that had 61 entrants.

In the preliminaries, Fullington’s second-place time of 6.59 broke his own Grafton boys’ record.

“I thought Nic ran well,” Grafton coach Kevin Kriegel said. “He’s been a little banged up, and the third race of the day kind of caught up with him.”

Fullington’s performance gave the Black Hawks their six points in the meet, good for a share of 25th place among 44 teams that scored.

Grafton had two other participants in the meet, which was limited to athletes who met qualifying standards.

Junior Max Jensen finished 55th out of 77 entrants in the 1,600 run (4:46.97), and teammate Gordy Thompson, a sophomore, was 56th (4:47.15). Both times were indoor personal bests.

Port Washington had five athletes in the boys’ meet, including three in the 1,600.

Senior Nick Bath finished 39th (a personal-best 4:41.39), followed by senior Max Noll in 67th (a season-best 4:51.25) and junior Ben Claas in 69th (a personal-best 4:52.44).

Also representing Port were brothers Eli and Nolan Olson in the 400 dash. Eli, a senior, was 36th (55.44), and Nolan, a junior, was 41st (56.14). Both had season-best times.

“They all ran well,” Port coach Mark Pasten said. “It gave them a chance to be part of some great competition.”

Port had the only local athletes in the girls’ portion of the meet.

The Pirates’ top finish came from sophomore Alexis Reichardt, who tied for 12th in the high jump (4 feet, 10 inches).

Fine tuning for the tennis wars PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 13 April 2016 15:39

Grafton, Port boys aim for blend of veteran, new talent in preparation for NSC battles

Questions linger for the Grafton boys’ tennis team following its season opener at the Brown Deer Invitational last Saturday, but one thing is certain.

The Black Hawks have plenty of talent and depth as they prepare for North Shore Conference competition and beyond.sports2

Despite the unavailability of several players, Grafton scored three 6-1 wins in the rain-shortened tournament, defeating Greenfield, GreendaleMartin Luther and Whitefish Bay Dominican.

“I was concerned about our depth going into the meet but I’m pleased now,” Hawks coach Nick Kassens said.

“We’ve got some good seniors and some younger players who are going to contribute. It’s a very competitive situation.”

Senior Sam Bucheger is back at No. 1 singles for the Hawks and posted a 2-1 tournament record.

With juggled lineups, Grafton didn’t have anyone else play at the same position throughout the day. However, Kassens said several team members have emerged as leading candidates for starting roles.

In addition to Bucheger, the top singles players include seniors Tommy Makela and Allen Zhukov and junior Tyler Otto.

In doubles, seniors Jon Kottke and Michael Rathke are the frontrunners at No. 1.

Seniors Brian Gilson and Christian Rowland have the inside track at No. 2, and senior Rahul Chityala and junior Alan Olivas are vying for the No. 3 spot.

“We lost a bunch of players to graduation, but that gives other players opportunities,” said Kassens, who has nearly 30 players in the program.


Among the graduates were Ben Bauman, Andrew Mosin, Rob Neuser, Sam Herlache and Alex Keefe. Bauman and Mosin played No. 1 doubles.

Inclement weather wiped out the first day of last weekend’s tournament, which will not be completed.

How well Grafton’s varsity newcomers play will be a key in determining if the team can improve on last year’s conference showing. The Hawks were sixth in the NSC tournament and overall standings.

No shortage of offense in Port’s early charge PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 13 April 2016 15:37

Hard-hitting performances carry Pirates past Lutheran, Whitefish Bay in first two softball games of season

It took some hard-hitting offense, but the Port Washington softball team overcame uncooperative weather and a pair of foes last week.

After having their first three games of the season postponed, the Pirates outslugged Milwaukee Lutheran and Whitefish Bay in North Shore Conference play.

Most recently, a fast start propelled Port to a 14-4 road win at Bay in a five-inning game April 7.

The Pirates scored seven runs in the first and held a 14-2 lead after three innings on the way to a mercy-rule win.

“We hit the ball pretty decently,” said Port coach Bob Snook, whose squad outhit the Blue Dukes, 11-4.

Lizzie Egan, Emily Egan and Amanda Kaiser each had two hits. Kaiser drove in three runs, and Egan had two RBI.

The Pirates were also aided by five Bay errors.

Port had three errors but held the Dukes in check behind the strong pitching of Kate Snook. The junior scattered four hits, struck out 11 and walked two.

Port 13, Milwaukee Lutheran 6

Madalyn Smith’s grand slam helped the Pirates secure a season-opening road win April 5.

Port, which scored in all but one inning, held a 4-2 lead after the fourth. After adding two runs in the fifth, the Pirates broke things open with a six-run sixth, highlighted by Smith’s homer.

Port collected nine hits, including two apiece by Snook and Lizzie Egan.

Snook pitched a complete game for the win. Battling through cold, wind and hail, she allowed four hits, struck out 14 and walked seven.

“The weather was tough,” coach Snook said.

“We had a few mistakes but did pretty well for the first game, especially under the conditions.”

The Pirates’ nonconference home game against Sheboygan South last Saturday was postponed. Makeup dates for that contest and postponed games against Campbellsport (March 29) and Sheboygan Falls (March 31) are pending.

This week, Port was scheduled to face Cedarburg on Tuesday, play a 4:30 p.m. game Thursday at Homestead and participate in a tournament at Fond du Lac High School on Saturday. On April 19, the Pirates will host Grafton at 4:30 p.m.

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 20 of 343