Ozaukee girls defend conference crown

McFadden wins three events and Warriors break three Big East records
Ozaukee Press staff

Thirteen athletes are all it took for the Ozaukee High School girls’ track and field team to win its second straight Big East Conference title on Monday at Howards Grove.

The Warriors won seven events — three by Delanie McFadden — and set three conference records while running away with the title. They scored 132 points to second-place Oostburg’s 69.

“Our girls’ team only has 13 athletes and every one of them showed up ready to compete and defend their title from last year.  We knew going in that we have a tough conference and that we were going to load them up on events based on our team size, and they handled it well,” coach Andrew Pfeuffer said.

McFadden won the 100-meter dash in a conference meet record 12.61 seconds and won the 200 in 26.36 and the 400 in 1:01.37.

The 1,600 relay team of Amy Hoffmann, Ally Stahl, Brianna Bustamante and Becca Schauer broke the meet record with a 4:24.18.

The 3,200 relay team of Ashlee Mueller, Ally Clark, Greta Klas and Kelley Large broke the meet record with a 10:26.14.

Large won the 1,600 in 5:43 and was second in the 3,200 in 12:40.03.

Mueller won the 800 in 2:33.68.

The 400 relay team of Brynn Meyer, Stahl, Bustamante and Schauer was second in 55.02. The 800 relay team of the same girls was third in 1:54.51.

Meyer was third in the long jump with a leap of 14 feet, 10.5 inches. Hoffmann was third in the 800 in 2:39.29.

Bustamante took fourth in the high jump by clearing 4-6, and Hannah Bustamante took sixth in a tiebreaker at the same height.

Klas was sixth in the 800 in 2:44.47. Clark was sixth in the 3,200 in 13:39.56.

Cedar Grove-Belgium scored 26 points for 11th place.

Lyndsay Sass was second in the 1,600 in 5:50.44.

Karen Ibarra was second in the 800 in 2:34.52.

The 3,200 relay team of Sass, Grace Voskuil, Greta Beernink and Ibarra was third in 10:41.37. The 1,600 relay team of the same girls was fifth in 4:34.17.
Simpson leads Ozaukee boys

Trent Simpson won the high jump by clearing 5-10 for the Ozaukee boys.

The Warriors scord 31 points for 10th place. Kohler won with 126.5. Reedsville scored 113.

Matt Baldwin was fourth in the 400 in 53.96. The 3,200 relay team of Baldwin, Hayden Rice, Calvin McKee and Sam Schubert was fourth in 8:42.6.

Rice was fifth in the 3,200 in 10:36.77. Schubert was fifth in the 400 in 55.02.

The 1,600 relay team of Baldwin, Simpson, Mason Thill and Schubert was sixth in 3:47.47.

“Our boys did a great job competing against a very talented conference. They went out, gave 100% effort in their events and didn’t back down to tough competition,” Pfeuffer said.

The Rockets scored 18 points and finished 12th.

Logan Ketterhagen was fifth in the 1,600 in 4:51.37. A.J. Schaefer was fifth in the 110 hurdles in 17.65.

Quinn Hoopman was sixth in the 3,200 in 10:41.77. Bryce Ketterhagen was sixth in the 800 in 2:09.17.

The Warriors compete in a regional meet in Pardeeville on Monday.

The Rockets compete in a regional at Kettle Moraine Lutheran on Monday.



Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login