Common Council president says he’s undecided about re-election bid

While Ehrlich is uncertain, other aldermen whose seats are up for election say they will run
Ozaukee Press staff

Three of the four Port Washington aldermen whose seats are up for election in spring said they will seek re-election.

Only Ald. Mike Ehrlich, who represents the 1st District, said he is unsure whether to seek another two-year term.

“I’m on the fence,” he said last week. “The reason I ran last time was to make sure things we had in motion at the time stayed in motion. They are.”

There are still a few developments that aren’t completed, such as the Newport Shores development proposed by Ansay Development, he said.

“This Ansay development is one of the last ones (still unfinished), and I want to see it through,” Ehrlich said. 

But Ehrlich noted he will have served on the Common Council for a decade by the election, and he said that’s a long time.

“I do believe you should only serve for so long,” he said. 

Ehrlich, an architect, is the council president and the second most senior alderman. Only Ald. Paul Neumyer, who represents the 2nd District, has been on the council longer.

The other aldermen whose terms will be up in spring are Mike Gasper, 3rd District; Jonathan Pleitner, 5th District; and John Sigwart, 7th District. They each said last week they plan to seek another two-year term.

All four elected officials in the Town of Port Washington — Chairman Jim Melichar, supervisors Mike Didier and Gary Schlenvogt and Treasurer Mary Sampont — will also be up for election this spring.

Those seats also are for two-year terms.

Nomination papers for the four seats can be circulated beginning Saturday, Dec. 1. They are due at City Hall at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2.

If more than two candidates seek the same office, a primary election will be held Tuesday, Feb. 19.

The general election will be held April 2.


Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login