CG-Belgium trio takes wrestling titles

Ozaukee’s Large wins Big East title at 126 pounds

CEDAR GROVE-BELGIUM’S Aaron Duenk (left) and Markus Ramirez each won Big East Conference wrestling titles last Saturday in Random Lake. Photos by Sam Arendt
Ozaukee Press staff

Last week’s Big East Conference wrestling tournament and Random Lake dual didn’t go the way Cedar Grove-Belgium High School had hoped, but the Rockets earned three league champs.

Cael Erickson at 132 pounds, Aaron Duenk at 195 and Markus Ramirez at 285 each brought home titles.

The Rockets, one man down due to the flu, finished third with 213 points, edged by Reedsville’s 215. Powerhouse Random Lake won with 260.

Ozaukee’s five wrestlers scored 60.5 points and took last of six teams.

Cael Large won the title at 126 pounds.

For the Rockets, Erickson pinned Gavin Malwitz of Oostburg in 2 minutes, 47 seconds and won a 9-0 major decision over Tristan Hammen of Random Lake in the title match.

It was Erickson’s second title in as many years. As a freshman last season, he pinned his way to the crown.

Coach Trevor Peterson said Erickson had a “huge week” after beating Hammen in an 8-4 decision in the dual and then with a major decision in the tournament.

Duenk pinned Logan Bruggink of Oostburg in 1:25 and Casey Braun of Reedsville in 1:45 in the final.

“He’s been doing well all season,” Peterson said.

Ramirez won a 6-0 decision over Reedsville’s Darren Wagner and a 3-1 decision over Jordan Arendt of Random Lake for the title.

Jessie Burg at 106 pounds, Mason Hoopman at 113 and Dylan Teunissen at 152 each took second.

Teunissen pinned Yuki Sesoko of Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah/Howards Grove in 3:15 and in the final lost an 11-5 decision to Joey Bock of Random Lake.

Hoopman won a 9-6 decision over Kyle Schmalz of Reedsville, an 8-3 decision over Kyle Jens of Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah/Howards Grove and lost a 9-0 major decision in the finals to Tanner Birenbaum of Random Lake.

Burg won a 10-2 major decision over Sam Schmalz of Reedsville and was pinned by Mark Szombathelyi of Random Lake in the finals.

For Hoopman and Burg, the finals were rematches from the dual on Feb. 4 with the same results.

Four Rockets took third: Winston Reichle at 120 pounds, Jackson DeRuyter at 126, Sawyer DeRuyter at 160 and Diego Morales at 220. All won their third-place matches with pins.

Peterson said a full lineup would have vaulted the Rockets into second place, but the lower finish “gives a little fire going into the regional.”

The Rockets and Warriors compete at Random Lake at 10 a.m. Saturday in the Division 3 regional meet. The winning team and top two individuals advance to sectional competition the following week.

On Feb. 4, the Rockets lost to rival Random Lake, 38-24. Reichle and Sawyer DeRuyter earned pins. Erickson, Teunissen, Morales and Ramirez each won decisions.

For Ozaukee, Large cruised to a title by beating Rocket Jackson DeRuyter in a 21-6 technical fall and beating Reedsville’s Bryer Christel by injury default in 4:24.

Jaysen Delleree at 138 pounds was fourth.





Click Here to Send a Letter to the Editor

Ozaukee Press

Wisconsin’s largest paid circulation community weekly newspaper. Serving Port Washington, Saukville, Grafton, Fredonia, Belgium, as well as Ozaukee County government. Locally owned and printed in Port Washington, Wisconsin.

125 E. Main St.
Port Washington, WI 53074
(262) 284-3494


User login